Graaf Floris, Utrecht, Netherlands

This municipal monument (the building in the middle) is located at number 13 on the Vismarkt (along the Oudegracht) in Utrecht. Café-Restaurant Graaf Floris. A building with a very rich history about which even a book has been written. In the current state the building dates from 1896. It is built on the well-known Utrecht wharf cellars from the 11th century. These, in turn, were built on the remains of the Lofen Imperial Palace. The whole lies within the boundaries of the castellum once built by the Romans. Many (wooden) buildings were destroyed by a nine-day city fire in 1253, including possibly Lofen. Parts of the palace have been preserved and have national monument status. Count Floris is known in Utrecht and surroundings for his warm apple balls.

Aan de Vismarkt (langs de Oudegracht) te Utrecht staat op nummer 13 (het pand in het midden) dit gemeentelijke monument. Café-Restaurant Graaf Floris. Een pand met een zeer rijke historie waarover zelfs een boek geschreven is. In de huidge staat dateert het pand van 1896. Het is gebouwd op de welbekende Utrechtse werfkelders uit de 11e eeuw. Deze zijn op hun beurt gebouwd op de resten van het keizerlijk paleis Lofen. Het geheel ligt binnen de grenzen van het ooit door de Romeinen gebouwde castellum. Door een negendaagse stadsbrand in 1253 werden veel (houten) gebouwen verwoest, waaronder mogelijk Lofen. Delen van het paleis zijn bewaard gebleven en hebben de status rijksmonument. Graaf Floris staat in Utrecht en omstreken bekend om zijn warme appelbollen.

utrecht, oudegracht, vismarkt, netherlands, graaffloris, appelbollen, lofoten, castellum, monument, gemeentelijkmonument, municipalmonument, rijksmonument, nationalmonument, architectuur

2020-05-19

1 2 3
home